Jones & Associates Insurance Agency, Inc Home Page

Driving is a serious responsibility and the instincts, calmness and reaction skills necessary to be a good driver aren’t learned after just a few driving lessons or by reading a book—they are developed with years and years of practice.

Because practice is so important in creating a good driver, the state of Maryland has a graduated driver’s license law that requires teens to obtain a learner’s permit initially, then a provisional license (which requires the completion of a driver’s education course and parental consent, unless you are 18 or older, before you can get it), and then—once they meet certain criteria—a full license.

Recently, the state changed some of the laws associated with each of these license types. Here is an overview of the changes:

  1. Learner’s permits must be held for 9 months. In the past the requirement had been to hold the learner’s permit for only 6 months, but the additional 3 months now required can really help a new driver hone their skills.

  2. A provisional license cannot be issued until you reach 16 years and 6 months old, rather than the 16 years and 3 months that were acceptable in the past. 

  3. Drivers LicenseWould-be drivers must be conviction free and Probation Before Judgment (PBJ) free for 9 months. In the past, would-be drivers needed only to be conviction free for 6 months and there was no PBJ restriction.

  4. You cannot get a full license until you reach the age of 18. In the past, you could get a full license at age 17 years and 9 months.

  5. You must be PBJ free for 18 months before you can get a full license. There was no restriction in the past.

  6. You will receive a 6-month license suspension if you are found to have committed reckless driving, aggressive driving, racing or negligent driving and it is your first offense. A 12-month suspension will be assigned for a second offense.

  7. You are prohibited from texting while driving. This is a completely new law.

  8. Your license can be suspended for 6-months if you accumulate 5 or more points within a 12-month period and a 12-month suspension for a second offense.

While these might seem like a lot more hoops to jump on your way to freedom as a fully licensed driver, these rules have been developed to help ensure the safety of you and other drivers.

Check with us today to make sure you're clear on the new rules of your Clinton MD Auto Insurance with Jones & Associates
Posted 1:27 PM  View Comments

Share |


No Comments


Post a Comment
Name
Required
E-Mail
Required (Not Displayed)
Comment
Required


All comments are moderated and stripped of HTML.
Submission Validation
Required
CAPTCHA
Change the CAPTCHA codeSpeak the CAPTCHA code
 
Enter the Validation Code from above.
NOTICE: This blog and website are made available by the publisher for educational and informational purposes only. It is not be used as a substitute for competent insurance, legal, or tax advice from a licensed professional in your state. By using this blog site you understand that there is no broker client relationship between you and the blog and website publisher.
Blog Archive


View Mobile Version


Quick Links Home Page Maryland Contractor Insurance Get A Quote Glossary Locations Contact Us About Us Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Connect on LinkedIn Jones & Associates Insurance Blog feed